Wednesday, January 9, 2008

And now back to real life...

Just a few quick words from New Year's Eve as I'm in the middle of packing to fly back to school tomorrow. (Which translates to I've been sitting on my bed messing around on the Internet for an hour and nothing is actually in my suitcases.)


The party this year was 90s themed and required costumes. I was informed of said theme the NIGHT before the party, at which time I had to scramble to come up with a costume. I went to Catholic school for 12 years, and definitely DID NOT keep my uniforms. Managed to find bits of an old Halloween costume from college when I went as a naughty Catholic school girl that could double as Britney Spears before the crazy. (Incidentally my very Jewish friend went as a priest that Halloween, but I digress.) The costumes were actually fairly clever:

As you can see Cris Cross was in attendance, as well as myself as Britney (minus the blonde). A few of the girls had on open flannel shirts (with clothes underneath), although the fact that this was a 90s fashion statement had escaped my notice. My best friend's cousin wore jeans, a sports t-shirt, and an imitation Stater windbreaker with a baseball cap, but really only managed to look like an inner city crack head. Another couple wore t-shirts that simply had 90s words on them - radical, awesome, etc. The best part of the party by far was the music. I'd forgotten how many big names got their start when I was just a young'un.

There were a few choice drunken comments as well:
Said of my best friend's brother dressed in pink polo shirt, white jacket, and old man blue pants: "Dude you look like a drug lord from Miami."

Unfortunately the winner of the night came from yours truly after a bit too much vodka and cranberry. Somehow the discussion got around to people, erm, "getting friendly" with goats.

Big E: No, Welshmen %^& sheep!

Me: You remembered! (pause) Although if you're going to &^^&* an animal, it should be a horse. At least you'd enjoy yourself. (The entire room looks askance at the drunken vet student in the corner...)

My anatomy teachers would be so proud.....

No comments: