14 year old kid to the homeless guy: Oi, I'll give you money for a pint if you'll buy me rockets....
Homeless guy: mmmmm, beer.....
If you can't find a handy homeless person, just ask an older sibling, parent, uncle, whatever. Working the ER tonight must be such a joy.
The best part is that they start celebrating Bonfire Night at least a freakin' week early. There have been fireworks going off at all hours of the night for at least that long. And they won't stop for a few days. I think people here want to set things on fire. I've already heard one fire truck come screaming past outside my window, and I'm sure there will be more as it's only 6:30 PM. This is incredibly conducive to the studying I have to do. Sigh.
At least on the 4th of July we know what the hell we're celebrating....
2 comments:
Of course we know what we're celebrating. The American right to get drunk, eat hot dogs and blow things up in colorful explosions... :)
Honestly, the Guy Fawkes festivities sound nearly exactly like some of the July 4th parties I used to see as a kid. Illegally-purchased fireworks everywhere, a lot of people more concerned about eating pork products and making things flash and bang than in celebrating the signing of the Declaration of Independence.
I'd wager if you went to a random assortment of celebrants on July 4th, 2008 and asked them what the precise reason for celebrating July 4th was, the majority would be just as clueless as the Guy Fawkes crowd. Remember, this is a country where reading scores are dropping at the high school level, fewer than half of all high school students read for pleasure rather than homework, and about 3/5th of all college students can't identify the United States on a world map...
Hahaha, you're probably right! It just seems the Brits have a lot of made-up holidays. Take bank holidays - these are really just random Mondays throughout the year they feel like taking off! They're not even consistent through England and Scotland and Wales...
Post a Comment