Thursday, November 15, 2007

This is why I don't sleep...

So I have figured out why I don't sleep at night anymore...I do things like stay up to keep an eye on the score of the Flyers game. Then the Flyers do silly things like lose to the damn Rangers for the second time in two weeks in overtime, causing them to have to share first place. As a Philly fan, this scares the crap out of me because we know the slide into suck is likely to happen at any time and without warning. Anyway, it's now nearly 4 AM, and this all serves to make me too pissed off to sleep.

Oh, and will someone please tell Simon Gagne to DUCK the next time someone takes a swing at him? He's been out of action since October 24, and as much as I want him to recover to his old self, this indefinite absence worries me a wee bit....Sigh. Couldn't we just have one season where we run away unchallenged with the whole thing?? Just one?? Good thing I only have one lecture tomorrow morning...

2 comments:

Don said...

Remember the "Twilight Zone" episode where an inveterate gambler and all-time loser is gifted with the ability to never lose a game of chance? Remember how much he suddenly hated winning? (And I have to remember that there's a good chance you never watch that or any other episode of the "Twilight Zone" since it was off the air for a couple of decades before you were born... :)

If the Flyers simply ran away with the Cup without any resistance, where would "the Thrill of Victory™" be? It would be boring as hell. Not that watching "the Slide Into Suck℠" is a great feeling, but still...

Rowerchick said...

Hahaha, I think Philly is so starved for a championship, we would gladly run away with said prize in whichever sport we could. There's only been 1 parade in my lifetime, and I was waaaaay too little to remember it. Funny thing about Philly is is that no matter where else you're living, you can't cheer for any team but Philly. I swear it's in the water...