Saturday, November 24, 2007

Inevitable Conversations & Why I'm Becoming a Bear

Happy post-Thanksgiving! I'm sitting here a bit fuzzy headed from a big meal last night (everyone had class' til late on Thursday) and too much sleep today (and quite possibly the animal welfare legislation notes I'm reading...). I think I've been out of bed for a grand total of 30 minutes. It's just so warm and comfy...but I'll get to that in a minute.

I got speak with my whole family on Thursday while they were at dinner, which was great, but it always makes me incredibly homesick. However, there are things about these conversations that I absolutely dread. The background to this is my chronically single status. I've dated off and on, but never anyone seriously (or longer than a few weeks). There has been serious (on my part) interest in a few guys over the years, but the stories are messy and best left alone. If you ask me why the singlehood your answer would be lack of time and opportunity (and that most guys are idiots). If you speak to my friends, it's pickiness and fairy-tale syndrome (Damn you, Disney!). Ignore them. ;-) Anyway, at my age, this tends to prompt incomprehension and suspicion in my relatives. My mother has asked me twice if I was a lesbian (which I'm not although since vet school have considered in passing just 'cause my odds are better LOL). All this leads to the inevitable question every time the holidays or summer vacation roll around. "So, are you seeing anyone?" I got a new variation on this from my aunt this week and was asked, "So are you having sex?" (I'm praying to God my mother wasn't in the room at the time, even though the answer was no. That's a conversation I would rather avoid.) After I stop laughing and my inevitable answer of "NO" is given, I am then forced to explain why. (Like I know??) At least this year I had my speech ready. Let's do the math, shall we?

There are 21 guys in my year at school. (I'm discounting the other classes as we barely ever intermingle, and the story of the Big Bad Wolf in the year ahead of me is best not told to the fam.) 13 of these guys have girlfriends. 21-13=8. 3 of the guys in my year are gay (2 of which came out to me within 24 hours of each other in October - yeesh.) 8-3=5. The remaining 5 guys are undateable for various reasons of personal hygiene, age, manwhorishness, and extreme reserve. 5-5=0. Now add to this that the vet school is rather isolated from the rest of the uni, and the course leaves little time for outside activities = I remain single. :P At least this year, my equation managed to stave off any more questions, even though I did get the sympathetic and pitying "Oh." (God that makes me crazy. Why do I have to be dating someone as well as training as a vet to make me a whole person?? *HUGE PET PEEVE ALERT TO BE COVERED WHEN I'M MORE AWAKE*) I suppose we'll go another round in a few weeks when I'm home for Christmas. ('Cause of course the answer will be different in 3 weeks...) Maybe I should ask for a mail-order husband or an arranged marriage this year. Certainly would make life easier, and I'd love to the see look on people's faces if I actually answered yes to the inevitable question.

Ok, so have spoken to the family and managed to depress myself about being stuck here. Now I'm going to combine that with the lack of daylight we're currently experiencing. We're down to less than 8 hours of sunlight a day, and it POURED rain all last week. Oh, and it's FREEZING, although for some reason we're the only place it's not snowing. As you can imagine, this induces an extreme need to hibernate. I want to crawl into bed, snuggle under a million covers and sleep 'til March when the daylight starts coming back. However, not being large, hairy, and clawed, this is not a feasible option. I just get a wee bit irritable and depressed (to the point where I almost started crying in the grocery store yesterday 'cause I couldn't find minced onion. Oi.). During the winter, it's constantly a wonder to me that more people don't jump off bridges or something. At least there's Christmas to look forward to, although I have to get through an exam first. Yuck. :P

P.S. For those of you that were worried the paper with the pink Post-It was found, signed and sent to me a week ago. Too bad it arrived a day before the paperwork needed to be in NY. Thank God I had badgered the office into signing another copy 3 weeks ago so everything would be in on time. I swear this place is going to drive me to insanity one of these days....

4 comments:

Don said...

Hey, don't sweat the boyfriend crap. You're a busy, busy woman, and still young. Not to mention that you've very succinctly described the narrowness of the pickings. You're probably better off just focusing on the work, and, well, this may sound rude, but - this is the age of modern technology, if you catch my drift... Doing it yourself means you're never disappointed and never sleep on the wet spot!

Sorry about that. Moving on...

Perhaps you should consider what I've seen in the movies a few times over - have someone you know simply come with you at Christmas who's willing to play "boyfriend" in front of the family just so they'll stop pestering you about your relationship status. You could do worse. When they ask about him in a few months, just tell them he was nice and all that but you've moved on, or he's gone on a trip or something.

It sounds kind of lame. But then again, so is dealing with the family at the holidays when their noses are that far into your business.

Rowerchick said...

Hahaha, thanks, Matt! You sound like my Dad (bar the modern technology comment LOL). He's all about me and school and no boys. :) I love my family to death, but they do drive me crazy at times. What makes it worse is that two of my younger brothers have long-term girlfriends. Bastards. ;-)

I wish the solution to the problem were as easy as borrowing a male friend. Unfotunately, my parents know my close male friends and would never buy it. One of my male friends from here is coming to visit this summer, but is gay, and it shows. Guess it's back to the drawing board (or my pig notes...whatever.). :) b

Don said...

Hey, I'd volunteer, but I'd probably raise more eyebrows than lower them - what with being 40 and a soon-to-be-divorcee! What about friends' friends? Or maybe a girlfriend will give you a loaner? (hee hee hee!)

Hey, maybe the "flaming friend" can tone it down and play straight for you for a family appearance? A few hours, then tuck him away, and the family is happy that you aren't alone.

Funny thing is, if this happened while you were in high school or junior high, it would certainly be more like "what are you doing thinking about guys?!?"

Well, good luck with the holidays. I relate to the whole "wanting a significant other" thing. While I've only been separated since March, I've been alone for a good deal longer. Had a few relationships, but nothing that stuck. You'll be fine, I'll be fine, we'll all be fine, and soon enough, you'll be a doctor - some guys think that's really hot!

Rowerchick said...

Sigh, unfortunately the friend will be staying at the house, so it would be more a week long performance. Hahaha

Sorry to hear about the divorce, but you're right. You will be fine. As for guys finding doctors hot, let's hope so! All I keep hearing about is how hard it is to meet people in a female-dominated profession and the guys who get intimidated by a chick that makes more than them...What is with you people?? Hahahaha